Alfa Romeo Stelvio Forum banner

Carbon Ceramic Brakes Suspension Effect

6K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  FOURCED 
#1 ·
I'm not an engineer or a suspension expert but I know there is more Performance "Value" to the Carbon Ceramic Brakes than most people appear to understand.

With all due respect, the Ignorant car reviewers I've watched, and I have watched Dozens, seem to know nothing more about brakes than what the last reviewer they just watched and that was "The Standard Brakes Stop Just Fine So Save Your $8000.00.

The Stelvio Quad is the ultimate High Performance Crossover Beast (See Nurburgring Video or Time) and not a Flat Surface Track Car and certainly not just a grocery getter. These things are expected and destined to see rougher roads at higher speeds.

The Reason so many of the suspension components are made from Aluminum and not Cast Iron is because they need to be light weight in order to follow the road at Higher Speeds and keep the tires planted.
The Higher the speeds and the rougher the terrain the more important this becomes.

9.5 Lbs of unsprung weight per corner is substantial and it could be the difference between losing control of the rear end when you encounter that unexpected washboard road surface mid turn or not.
Yes the Carbon Ceramics could save your life and I'm not talking about Braking. I'm talking about Handling.

Anyone ever have the rear end on their pickup truck or car with a super heavy solid rear axle kick sideways in a washboard turn? That solid rear axle is the other extreme.

A video I ran across.

[ame]https://youtu.be/wnKci_kn_EU?t=172[/ame]

What do you all think?

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
All Valid points.

Although it is more complex than just the weight aspects, for the wash-boarded road you talk about.....