Alfa Romeo Stelvio Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm trying to hardwire a Blackvue B-124x battery to my rear fuse box so I can stash it under the floor. I've seen people wire to the front fuse box which is easier, but I don't want to place the battery in the glove box or under a chair. I was going to use the F22 fuse which protects the 12v power socket. Is this advisable? Also, which screw would be the best for my ground wire in this scenario? I'm new to this stuff and it's just a little difficult to find information on all of this, but I'm trying. Thanks!

Trunk fuse box diagram: Alfa Romeo Stelvio (2017, 2018, 2019..)

·
Registered
2018 Stelvio Q4 Sport, MonteCarlo Blue
77 Posts
I assume you did this by now. But in case it helps anyone else in the future:

In general, yes, that is fine. Did you tap onto the wire or did you do the add-a-fuse option? I would have suggested the piggyback fuse option to leave the OEM wiring alone and direct-wire your new device to it's own fused pigtail.

Any metal location that is welded to the car body or frame can be used as a ground, but it works best if it is an un-painted surface. For example, if you put it between the grey plastic of the fuse assembly tab at the bottom there and that metal mounting tab, I would have scuffed the red paint off (under the grey tab) for a better connection.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the response! Unfortunately I ran into a different problem. I tried to use a piggyback fuse but it didn't fit i the proper orientation. The bottom of the fuse f22 is the load side, this would leave the fuses sticking out the right of the piggyback and not being able to go in all the way in. I've read piggybacks in the wrong orientation can cause additional load on the car fuse so I haven't found a nice solution yet.

·
Registered
77 Posts