Alfa Romeo Stelvio Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys I’m new to this and I hope someone on here can help or at least point me in The right direction , so here goes !! I have a an Alfa stelvio qv 2019 and
I had to replace my transfer box (apparently) and the dealers quoted me 3 1/2 thousand pounds needless to say I thought it would be best if I tried to source a secondhand one which I did and replaced it . Unfortunately after having replaced it the odometer flashing which I thought required a proxy alignment also a message came up on the dashboard saying all wheel drive temporarily unavailable which I’m assuming means the vehicle is in rear wheel drive mode only I was then told by the dealers that the dtcm will need to be reprogrammed to my car becouse it’s a secondhand item so it will still have the donor cars chassis number etc and it won’t work in my car until then .. I just took it to Stoneacre of Romeo in Doncaster today and there’s tried to reprogram it but the master technician told me that it’s impossible because there is no option for it to be done so my question here is guys is there anyway that you guys know of that this can be done i.e. can someone reprogram the DTCM actuator/control module so it will work in my car thank you guys.

· Registered
1,488 Posts
I had my transfer case replaced from the dealer through warranty recently. Are you sure you want to mess with the transfer case that was designed for RWD to AWD? I would return the one you got and try reinstalling the one for AWD. I know the cost will end up near or even more than what the dealer may have initially quoted, but we live and learn this way.... If someone knows how to do this, I'm all ears to learn the process as well.

BTW, it appears that this transfer case seems to be an issue for many of our cars. Why isn't Alfa Romeo addressing this inherent problem? meaning, what really is the failure? Just wondering...

· Registered
6,325 Posts